Critical Reflection on My Next Stage of Learning

We are already in week 13, and the end of all the modules is approaching. Despite the fact that ES1102 does not give us any modular credit, I treat it equally with other modules because it is as demanding and beneficial as others. Honestly, in the first several tutorials, I was impressed and touched when our tutor Mr. Blackstone kept convincing us of the idea that we were not disadvantaged compared to those who passed the QET and insisted that ES1102 deserved modular credits as well. His words removed my disappointment of failure in OET at the beginning of the course and encouraged me to be determined to work hard on my English. This module is just a continuation of my English learning journey.

Through twelve weeks’ tutorials, I learnt a lot with fun. What I learnt are not only grammar, writing skills for academic writing and other English learning-related knowledge, but also some motivational and educational ideas from readings and videos that built up our confidence and guided us to go further. Equipped with the experience of ES1102 and knowledge acquired from this module, I know better what I need to do in my next stage of English learning.

I need to keep on expanding my vocabulary. In order to write a standard academic essay, I need to use the exact and professional words to express my ideas. Every time I read my classmates’ posts, I found that their language had a larger variety of vocabulary and were more expressive and informational. Therefore, I felt it necessary for me to persist in working on vocabulary to catch up. Vocabulary can be broadened through more listening and reading. I will try to gain more vocabulary in these two ways.

In my future English learning, I also need to constantly write essays. If I do not write on a regular basis, I might be unfamiliar with writing and cannot write as well as I do now. Developing the habit of regular writing can help me recall writing skills, have a better command of them and put my vocabulary into use. Writing is not a burden. On the contrary, it can be fun. After watching a fascinating movie or reading an impressive article, I can write a movie review or a reader response. Such independent learning experience is beneficial and interesting. 

Learning is a lasting process. My English learning in ES1102 will come to an end in several weeks, but my learning journey never ends. I will put the above plans in my next stage of English learning and keep on improving in English.

 


7 responses to “Critical Reflection on My Next Stage of Learning

  • pakawayay

    Hello Fangfei!

    Nice to know you after working with you for a few lessons in class! Actually, I think your command in English is pretty good, just that you are rather shy in class 🙂 Let’s all work hard in English together! I’m not sure if I’m allowed to use Chinese here, but still… 我们一起加油吧!

    Cheers!

    • chengfangfei

      So glad to be in the same class with you! You were very friendly. I remembered when we were in the same discussion group, you were very patient and sometimes tried to communicate with me in Chinese. Actually, I can totally understand you in English~ This semester was so short that we did not have time to know each other better and become closer. Remember to so Hi when we meet in campus! Thank you for your help in class!我们一起加油吧!冲啊~

  • Desheng

    Hi Fang Fei,
    Nice knowing you and I think you just need to be confident. Your English is not bad at all. Other than reading and writing, verbal communication is also very important for learning English. I know what you are encountering now for English because I also came from China. My suggestion is to be confident and speak up in English. I can still remember when I just came over during secondary school, there is this pig named Snowball in the literature book “Animal Farm” and the exam question was “How Snowball destroy the windmill”. My answer was that snowball rolled and became so large that it hit the windmill. Come to think of it, that was really a funny answer but my teacher and friends never laughed at me, instead, they helped me to understand where was my mistake. Thus, do not be afraid to make mistakes because friends and teachers will not laugh at you. Learn from the mistakes and improve along the way.
    All the best!

    • chengfangfei

      Hi Desheng,
      Haha, that was indeed a funny answer! It surprised me that your oral English was as good as native speakers. Thank you for sharing your experience and advice! You are right that we should not be afraid of mistakes. I will try to speak more and improve faster. Good luck!

  • vanessatung

    Hello FangFei!

    It has been a great 12 weeks spent in classes with you, and the several times we were placed in the same group by Mr. Brad. I agree with the other comments above that your English is actually quite good!

    While you have pointed out the several aspects of English you think you have to work on in your reflection, I think you should also look at the bright side: on how your English has improved over the past 12 weeks and will continue to improve as you continue writing! 🙂

    As you have said, “Learning is a lasting process”, let’s all strive to work hard and continue to improve even after this semester is over! 🙂

    Cheers

    • chengfangfei

      Hi Vanessa!
      I think we have a great time working together!Thank you for being so friendly and helpful. I am happy to know that we have taken several same modules in Faculty of Science! Althugh EC1301 seems to be kind of tough, let’s suffer for fun and try to do our best in the final exam!
      Wish you all the best for your future English learning! ^^

  • Brad Blackstone

    This is a wonderful final reflection, Fangfei. In it you detail some of your ES1102 experience and relate that to your views about your own progress and learning English in general. I appreciate your recognition that this term has in no way been a final stage but that our work was very much just a stage in your ongoing developmental process. I’m especially impressed by the way you outline your next stage of learning.

    As Pakwei mentioned, you seemed quite shy in class, but I think it has been clear to all of us that you were always acutely aware of what was happening even though you were reserved. This post shows that our hunch was correct.

    Thanks for your effort here and throughout the term. I have no doubt you will enjoy each stage of your journey!

Leave a comment